Skip Navigation  

Overview & Members

The Board of Education is comprised of seven members, elected at large to serve four-year terms. It is subject to local, state, and federal laws. The Board determines policy for all public schools, from kindergarten through twelfth grade, in the San Francisco Unified School District, City and County of San Francisco.

The Board of Education is responsible for establishing educational goals and standards; approving curriculum; setting the district budget, which is independent of the city's budget; confirming appointment of all personnel; and approving purchases of equipment, supplies, services, leases, renovation, construction, and union contracts. In order to manage the day-to-day administration of the district, the Board of Education appoints a superintendent of schools.

Board Members


Stevon Cook

Mr. Stevon Cook, President

Mark Sanchez
Mr. Mark Sanchez, Vice President

Matt Haney

Mr. Matt Haney, Commissioner

Mr. Faauuga Moliga, Commissioner

Dr. Emily Murase

Dr. Emily M. Murase, Commissioner

Rachel Norton
Ms. Rachel Norton, Commissioner

Shamann Walton

Mr. Shamann Walton, Commissioner



Esther V. Casco, Executive Assistant to the Board of Education
phone: 415-241-6493