Skip Navigation  
2015 QTEA award winners

QTEA Impact & Innovation Awards

Applications are now being accepted for the 2018-19 award cycle! Please access the application guide here to learn more and to submit your application.


Watch the video of our 2018 Impact & Innovation with this link - and thank you to Galileo High School student Aaron De Leon for his donating his exceptional filming and editing skills to our program!



Now in its fifth year, the QTEA Impact and Innovation awards continue to showcase the creativity, problem-solving skills and continual cycle of improvement integral to SFUSD schools.

2017-18 Innovation Awards

For the third consecutive year, SFUSD has administered the QTEA Innovation Awards to advance our broader commitment to develop SFUSD into an innovative system (Shift #9 in Vision 2025) and capitalize on SFUSD’s iLab as a resource toward that end. As a result, schools were again invited to submit an application for an equity challenge that their school community wants to tackle in an innovative fashion. The winning schools listed below were invited to assemble a diverse team of administrators, staff, parents, and students to engage in a six week design process to conduct empathy and inspiration based research, unearth critical insights, and create new solutions that they will implement to address their unique challenge. The links below for each school will bring you to their initial application. For updates on each school's progress, click on this link here.


  1. Aptos Middle School
  2. Balboa High School
  3. Cesar Chavez Elementary School
  4. Civic Center Secondary School
  5. Commodore Sloat Elementary School
  6. Fairmount Elementary School
  7. Francis Scott Key Elementary School
  8. Hillcrest Elementary School
  9. Independence High School
  10. John McLaren Early Education School
  11. Leonard R. Flynn Elementary School
  12. Sheridan Elementary School
  13. The Academy - SF
  14. Wallenberg High School
  15. Visitacion Valley Middle School

2017-18 Impact Awards

For 2017-18, the QTEA Impact Awards have been awarded to 8 district schools (3 of whom submitted the first winning joint application). The Impact awards continue to recognize and support the expansion of practices which have demonstrated impact on student achievement. The funding to each sites will enable them to build and expand on these promising practices. Our winners for 2017-18 are as follows:

  1. Carver ES

  2. Flynn ES

  3. June Jordan School for Equity

  4. Muir, Hillcrest, SF Community (joint application)

  5. Sheridan

  6. Tenderloin Community School