Skip Navigation  

Nine SF Schools Receive 2012 California Distinguished School Award

Press Release

March 29, 2012 (San Francisco) – The California Department of Education (CDE) announced today that Alice Fong Yu Alternative School, Dianne Feinstein, Edward R. Taylor, Frank McCoppin, John Yehall Chin, Lafayette, New Traditions, Sherman, and Ulloa Elementary Schools received 2012 California Distinguished School awards.

According to the CDE, the 2012 California Distinguished Schools Program focuses on California’s students and their entitlement to an equitable and rigorous education. The program identifies and honors those schools that have demonstrated educational excellence for all students and progress in narrowing the achievement gap.

“The schools we are recognizing today demonstrate the incredible commitment of California’s teachers, administrators, and school employees to provide a world-class education to every student, in spite of the financial hardships facing our state and our schools,” said State Superintendent Tom Torlakson. “Their dedication is inspiring, and I applaud and admire their passion and persistence.”

To be invited to apply for Distinguished School honors, schools must meet a variety of eligibility criteria including designated federal and state accountability measures based on the Elementary and Secondary Education Act and the Academic Performance Index requirements.

Once schools are deemed eligible, the CDE invites them to apply to be recognized as a California Distinguished School. The application process consists of a written application, which includes a comprehensive description of two of the school's signature practices, and a county-led site validation review process, which validates the implementation of those signature practices.  

Elementary and secondary schools (middle and high schools) are recognized in alternate years. This year focuses on elementary schools.

Schools earning the Distinguished School title agree to share their signature practices with other schools and serve as mentors to other educators who want to replicate their work. An updated searchable database of these signature practices will be available later this spring from the California Department of Education.

Schools selected for recognition will be honored as Distinguished Schools at award ceremonies.


Page updated on 03/29/12