Physical Education & Physical Activity Awards



Ms. Gloria Siech was a physical education teacher from 1967-1998 and our district’s first K-12 Physical Education Content Specialist from 1998-2003. She worked effortlessly to bring physical education to high standards in San Francisco’s elementary and secondary physical education programs. She pioneered the distinguished elementary physical education program that thrives today, and she initiated a standards-based curriculum guide for a comprehensive and quality physical education program for our secondary schools. Gloria believed in talent and leadership and in a strong physical education program that engaged student learning and success.

The Gloria Siech Physical Education Teacher Award recognizes exemplary work by physical educators in the elementary, middle school, and high school divisions. Physical education teachers nominate deserving colleagues, and the Academic and Professional Development Physical Education Department decides on the most outstanding candidates in the elementary and secondary divisions that best represent quality physical education instruction and leadership in SFUSD.



A teacher who has made an impact on students and their community. They do so without realizing that their every action has a rippling effect that has a bigger influence on the “entire pond”.  Someone who you believe is truly inspirational and will continue to make a huge impact on students.  

Previous Gloria Siech Award Recipients

  • Juan Lopez 2022
  • Carrie Wert 2022
  • Brenda Richards- 2020
  • Rocio Ramirez - 2019
  • Olga Camacho - 2018
  • Chrissy Hosoda 2018
  • Leslie Burleson - 2017
  • Sophia Corbett - 2017
  • Terence Doherty - 2016
  • Lenda Butcher- Meyers -2016
  • Brian Chang - 2015
  • Danielle Andreson-  2013
  • Karen Hadley - 2008
  • Wendy Haney - 2007
  • Jeri Jank -2007

Previous Pond Rippler Recipients

2022 Pond Ripplers: 

  • Mike Flynn  (Elementary) 
  • Ann Murphy   (Elementary) 
  • Cynthia Hard  2 (Middle School) 
  • Sharon Roberts-Cagle   (Middle School) 
  • Jeff Sunada  (High School) 

2021 Pond Ripplers: 

  • Dylan Debono (Elementary) 
  • Craig Bostwick (Elementary) 
  • Felipe Segovia (Middle School) 
  • Sharon Cheng (Middle School) 
  • Kevin Doherty (High School)

2019 Pond Ripplers

  • Corey Capozziello  (Middle School)
  • Justin Alander-Yasonia (Elementary) 
  • James Burke (High School) 

2018 Pond Ripplers: 

  • Annicia Jones  (Middle School)
  • Danny Moroney (Elementary) 
  • Gabriel Morse  (Middle School)

2017 Pond Ripplers:

  • Duane Breaux (High School) 
  • Cristal Fernandez (High School) 
  • Danielle Carlin  (Middle School)
  • Olga Camacho  (Middle School)
  • Erika Kniffel  (Middle School)
  • Dave Speidel (Elementary) 
  • Amy Matarazzo (Elementary) 
  • Andrew Kelder (Elementary) 

Inaugural Pond Ripplers

  • Shenny Diaz   (Middle School)
  • Lavinia Meeker  (Middle School)
  • Brenda Richard (Middle School)
  • Lenda Butcher-Meyer  (Middle School)
  • Brian Chang  (Middle School)
  • Savannah Lykins  (Middle School)
  • Amanda Gallagher  (Middle School)

This page was last updated on August 18, 2022