Board of Education Standing, Ad Hoc and Joint Committees

Standing, Ad Hoc, and Joint Committee Meetings Schedule

July 1, 2019 through July 31, 2020
  • Standing, ad hoc and joint committee meetings are subject to change.
  • Meetings are not official until a formal agenda is posted. Meeting agendas are posted on BoardDocs.
  • Meetings usually do not take place in the month of July.

Budget and Business Services

First Wednesdays at 6 p.m.

  • Chair: Jenny Lam
  • Alison M. Collins
  • Rachel Norton
  • Liaison: Meghan Wallace 

Buildings, Grounds and Services

Fourth Mondays at 6 p.m.

  • Chair: Faauuga Moliga
  • Stevon Cook
  • Gabriela Lopez
  • Liaison: Dawn Kamalanathan

Curriculum and Program

Second Mondays at 5 p.m.

  • Chair: Alison M. Collins
  • Gabriela Lopez
  • Mark Sanchez
  • Liaison: Dr. Nicole Priestly

Rules, Policy and Legislation

First Mondays at 5 p.m.

  • Chair: Jenny Lam
  • Gabriela Lopez
  • Mark Sanchez
  • Liaison: Michael Davis

Ad Hoc Committee on Student Assignment

Meetings in 2020 will be held on August 31, September 14, and September 29 from 5 - 7 PM.   All meetings of this ad hoc committee will be called by the committee chair in consultation with the liaison.

  • Chair: Rachel Norton
  • Stevon Cook
  • Mark Sanchez
  • Liaison: Orla O'Keeffe

Ad Hoc Committee on Personnel Matters, Labor Relations and Affordability

Meetings, as requested by the chair, will take place on the second Wednesday of the month at 6 p.m.

  • Chair: Rachel Norton
  • Stevon Cook
  • Jenny Lam
  • Liaisons: Daniel Menezes and Carmelo Sgarlato

Joint City, School District and City College Select Committee

Joint committee of the Board of Supervisors, Board of Education, and the Board of Trustees of City College, established by the Board of Supervisors on April 2, 2019.

Every second Friday of the month at 10 a.m. in City Hall, Second Floor, Chamber Room 250

  • District Liaisons: Mele Lau-Smith and Viva Mogi
  • Chair: Supervisor Matt Haney
  • Vice-Chair: Supervisor Shamann Walton
  • Alternate: Supervisor Gordon Mar
  • Commissioner Faauuga Moliga
  • Commissioner Alison M. Collins
  • Commissioner Stevon Cook, Alternate
  • Trustee Alex Randolph
  • Trustee Shanell Williams
  • Trustee Thea Selby, Alternate

Advisory and Oversight Committees

Advisory and oversight committees involve community members in the day-to-day matters and decisions of the school district. Citizens, parents, and students all play active roles in helping to shape policies of the Board of Education. View our advisory councils and committees, many of which advise the Board of Education.