First Grade - State Assessments


Outline of California with brown bear and red star
Aug 21 - Oct 27 Initial ELPAC & Initial Alt ELPAC (Phase 1)
Oct 30 - Jun 4 Initial ELPAC & Initial Alt ELPAC (Phase 2)
Feb 1 - May 31 Summative ELPAC & Summative Alt ELPAC

English Language Proficiency Assessment for California (ELPAC)

The English Language Proficiency Assessment for California (ELPAC) is an assessment of English language proficiency. It is comprised of two tests.

llamas for elpac test types
  1. Initial ELPAC: Throughout the school year, all TK-12 students who indicate a language other than English on their Home Language Survey (HLS) when enrolling in a CA public school for the first time must take the Initial ELPAC. Most students are initially assessed in the first month of school. Those who enroll throughout the year must be assessed as well.
  2. Summative: Students classified by the Initial ELPAC as English Learners are entitled to ELD instruction and must take the Summative ELPAC annually during the spring semester until they are reclassified as fluent in English (RFEP). 


For more information about ELPAC, please visit SFUSD English Language Proficiency Assessments for California.

This page was last updated on May 31, 2023