Six SFUSD schools named California Distinguished Schools

Posted Date

Six SFUSD schools named California Distinguished Schools

Press release

April 3, 2018 (San Francisco) - Six San Francisco Unified School District (SFUSD) schools have been named California Distinguished Schools: John Y. Chin Elementary, Lawton K-8, Claire Lilienthal K-8, Peabody Elementary, Sloat Elementary and Ulloa Elementary.

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson on Monday announced the 287 California elementary schools that are being honored under the Distinguished Schools Program for 2018.

The 2018 California Distinguished Schools Program recognizes California elementary schools (Kindergarten thru eighth grade) that have made exceptional gains in implementing academic content and performance standards adopted by the State Board of Education. The program returned this year after a three-year break, and replaces the California Gold Ribbon Schools Program.  

“It’s a great honor to be recognized for demonstrating outstanding performance or improvement among students,” Superintendent Dr. Vincent Matthews said. “I’m extremely proud of our award-winning schools, as well as our district, for the continued commitment to offer the highest quality education for San Francisco students.”

In 2018, California used a multiple measures accountability system to identify eligible K-8 schools based on their performance and progress on the state indicators as specified in the California School Dashboard in one of three categories: outstanding student performance, outstanding student performance with high poverty rate, outstanding improvement and equity across student groups.

In addition, this year California also recognized exemplary districts that have made a positive impact on student outcomes. SFUSD is being recognized as one of the 22 California Exemplary Districts for improving school culture and climate through its work with the African American Achievement and Leadership Initiative.

Page updated on 04/04/18