Four SFUSD Schools Named California Distinguished Schools

Posted Date

Four SFUSD Schools Named California Distinguished Schools

Press Release

San Francisco (December 19, 2019) - Four San Francisco Unified School District (SFUSD) schools have been named California Distinguished Schools: John Yehall Chin Elementary, Gordon J. Lau Elementary, Robert Louis Stevenson Elementary, and Ulloa Elementary. 

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond announced on Wednesday, December 18, 2019 that 323 elementary schools are being honored under the 2020 California Distinguished Schools Award Program. 

The 2020 California Distinguished Schools Award Program recognizes schools with outstanding education programs and practices that close the achievement gap and achieve exceptional student performance. The program selects schools based on performance and progress on the state indicators as specified on the California School Dashboard. Indicators include test scores, suspension rates, and conditions and climate. 

“We are thrilled to have our schools recognized for their exceptional performance using multiple indicators,” said SFUSD Superintendent Dr. Vincent Matthews. “This is a great honor for our award-winning schools’ students, families and staff.” 

A component of the California School Recognition Program, the Distinguished Schools program recognizes elementary schools and middle and high schools in alternate years, therefore, awardees hold the title for two years. The program was reinstated in 2018 after a three-year hiatus, and replaced the California Gold Ribbon Schools Program. 

All Distinguished Schools will be honored on February 10, 2020, during an awards ceremony hosted by the California Department of Education (CDE). The entire list of Distinguished Schools can be viewed here:


Page updated on 12/19/19