3.8.10 上學選擇:另類學校及教育計劃

上學選擇:另類學校及教育計劃

州法律授權所有校區提供另類學校。加州教育則例第 58500 條將另類學校定義為一所學校或學校内不同的班學習小組,其運作方式為達到以下目的:

  • (1) 為學生提供各種機會,使他們能以積極培養自立、進取、仁愛、自發、才略、勇氣、創新、責任及喜樂等美德。
  • (2)  認定學生有學習意欲,學習就發揮最大效果。
  • (3) 維持學生主動自發的學習精神,並鼓勵學生追求自己的興趣。學生的興趣(部分或全部)可     由學生向其教師講解選擇學習項目時引發出來。
  • (4) 不斷和不停提供各種機會,讓教師、家長及學生合作,共同制定學習程序和學習題材。
  • (5) 為學生、教師及家長提供各種機會,使他們能對千變萬化的世界(包括但不限於學校所在 的社區)不斷作出回應。

縣學監及校區中央辦公室需備有本法律的副本,供對另類學校感興趣的家長、學生或教師查詢詳
情。本法律特別授權感興趣的人士要求校區教委會在每個地區設立另類學校計劃。

以下是可供選擇就讀的另類學校:

獨立高中位於1350 7th Avenue,反映三藩市的豐富文化及多元化的人口結構。學校為已取得至少 60學分的學生提供另類教育機會。能於一年內畢業的學生將獲優先錄取。學生可獨自學習,以獲得高中畢業文憑為目標繼續接受中學教育。學生需要每週上課一次,每次至少四十五分鐘,學生與教師以一對一方式進行教學。設立計劃的目的是為了滿足特別學生的需要。通常這些學生因需要全職或半職工作、照顧子女、參與職業訓練(例如:芭蕾舞訓練),或遇到其他情況而不能每天上學。

所有學生每星期需完成 35 小時的獨立學習,相當於 7 科,每科 5 學分。作業可在家、圖書館或學校內完成。

學生(若目前入讀高中)可透過他們的校區高中輔導員, 或親臨學生入學事務處查詢該計劃。

Ida B. Wells 高中(位於 1099 Hayes Street)及Downtown 高中(位於 693 Vermont Street)是校區的兩間補習高中,幫助缺少高中學分的學生(相對於他們的年齡)。補習高中的申請人在註冊時必須至少年滿十六歲。十八歲的學生在報讀時必須得到校長允准,才會獲得派位。學生需每天上課,全日學習;然而,該校課程結構也容許學生以更快步伐修得高中學分。

首次入讀三藩市聯合校區的學生需首先向學生入學事務處(地址:555 Franklin St.)報到。而校區在讀生需與學校輔導員商討入讀補習高中事宜,或可透過學生服務事務處申請補習高中。所有未成年人需家長/監護人陪同。獲派位與否,需視乎是否有空位而定。報名所需證件如下:最近成績單一份、個別教育計劃一份(特殊教育學生適用)、住址證明,以及防疫注射記錄。

加州學齡家庭教育計劃(簡稱 Cal-SAFE)的目的是加強就學中懷孕/育兒少女所需的支援服務,   以提高她們的學業成績和育兒技能,並為她們的孩子提供高品質的托兒/發展計劃。

位於 1325 Florida Street 的 Hilltop 高中是可供選擇的另類三藩市聯合校區計劃,為學生提供更多支援服務,包括在校開設托兒服務、育兒教育和職業教育。加州學齡家庭教育計劃向上述所有校區學生提供服務,不管她們是在 Hilltop 或任何一所校區學校就讀。報讀這計劃純屬自願。查詢詳情,請致電(415) 241-3030,或電郵至officeofpupilservices@sfusd.edu,通過學生服務事務處來聯絡這計劃的協調員。

縣社區學校的行政辦事處位於 727 Golden Gate。縣社區學校為 6 至 12 年級的學生提供個人化的學校環境、綜合的學術課程和行為支援計劃。除提供傳統的校區課程外,縣社區學校還提供獨特、適合學生個人的計劃,如網上學習、社交/情緒支援組、職業/工作輔導。    

學生有權選擇留在這些計劃或重返校區學校或所辦計劃,但要視乎年齡、學位及被開除學籍所渉情況而定。這類學生由學生服務事務處負責轉介及派位,其入學申請經處理後,即獲安排到縣社區學校就讀。報名所需證件如上所述。查詢詳情,請聯絡學生服務事務處,電話: (415) 241-3030,電郵:officeofpupilservices@sfusd.edu

家居教學(Homebound Instruction)- 暫時殘障計劃:對象是一些預料暫時不能上學達四星期或以上的學生。至於學生留家上學的時間長短及原因,一概由執業醫生決定。在居家這段時間內,普通教育學生將每星期接受 2 小時教學,而特殊教育的教學時間將由個別教育計劃(IEP)小組決定。若預計學生需缺席少於四星期,則學生留有原校學席,並需完成學校指派的家課。欲知更多關於資格問題,請聯絡家居教學辦事處,電話: (415) 759-2895。

私人補習教師(Private Tutor)也可以教導學生,但必須持有效的加州教師執照,且適合教授相關年級的課程,而所教課程必須符合公校規定。每天授課時間起碼 3 小時,每年起碼 175 天,時間在上午 8 時至下午 4 時之間(請見加州教育則例 48200 及 48224 條)。補習教師並不需要如私校般申請批准證明。

各位若希望子女從普通公立高中取得高中畢業文憑,請注意一點,並非所有公校都承認從私人補習教師所得的學分。大部份公立高中只承認另一間獲評審承認高中的學分。

家長若想自己在家教導子女,可以在家設立一所私立學校。然而,家長/監護人若是該校教師,則他們必須持有教師執照,否則教學工作需由另一名持有教師執照人士來進行。法律規定,開私校需上網辦理宣誓供述書 , 網址:http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/ps 。在家教育(Home schooling)是指沒有教師執照的家長在家教導自己子女。然而,因到公校上學是強制性的,所以無論使用函授課程或其他種類課程,都不能獲得許可豁免而不須子女到公校上學。此外,家長/監護人雖辦理私校所需宣誓供述書,但這不能將該家長轉變成一所私校(加州教育廳,2002 年 7 月)。

特許學校(Charter Schools)於不同範疇和年級對象上各有專長,它們均是公開招生的。這些特許學校的特許權均由三藩市教育委員會授予,各校皆有本身的收生措施。如欲索取特許學校名單,可致電特許學校辦事處,電話:(415) 355-7323。

跨校區入學申請(Interdistrict Enrollment): 如想就讀三藩市聯合校區以外公校,可選擇跨校區入學申請,但安排須得兩校區(即三藩市聯合校區同意讓學生離去,另一校區同意接受)同意方可(請參閱本手冊第 3.8.8節)

This page was last updated on October 21, 2022

3.8.10 Attendance Options: Alternative Schools in Educational Programs

Attendance Options: Alternative Schools in Educational Programs

State law authorizes all school districts to provide for alternative schools.  CA Education Code 58500 defines an alternative school as a school or separate class group within a school that is operated in a manner designed to:

  • (1) Maximize the opportunity for students to develop the positive values of self-reliance, initiative, kindness, spontaneity, resourcefulness, courage, creativity, responsibility, and joy.
  • (2) Recognize that the best learning takes place when the student learns because of a desire to learn.
  • (3) Maintain a learning situation maximizing student self-motivation and encouraging the student in their own interest.  These interests may result in whole or in part from a presentation on choices of learning projects to their teachers.
  • (4) Maximize the opportunity for teachers, parents, and students to cooperatively develop the learning process and its subject matter.  This opportunity shall be a continuous, permanent process.
  • (5) Maximize the opportunity for student, teachers, and parents to continuously react to the changing world, including, but not limited to the community in which the school is located. 

In the event any parent, student, or teacher is interested in further information regarding alternative schools, the County Superintendent of Schools and the administrative office of this district shall have copies of the law available for your information.  This law particularly authorizes interested persons to request the governing board of the district to establish alternative school programs in each district.

Listed below are the alternatives available:

Independence High School, located at 1350 7th Avenue, reflects the culturally rich and diverse population of San Francisco.  The high school provides an alternative educational opportunity for students who have earned at least 60 high school credits.  Priority is given to those students who can graduate within the year.  Independent study allows students to continue their secondary education toward a high school diploma by attending school on a once-a-week basis for a minimum of 45 minutes per week in a 1:1 teacher/student ratio setting.  This program was established to meet the needs of students who need to work full or part-time, care for a child, participate in a professional training program (e.g. ballet), or other circumstances that would preclude them from attending school daily.

All students are expected to complete 35 hours of independent work every week which translates into 7 courses for 5 credits each.  The assignments may be completed at home, in the library, or at the school. 

Applications are available through the school and at the Office of Pupil Services.  In addition to the two-page application, students must submit an autobiography, a copy of a current transcript or scholarship record, a copy of the IEP if the student is eligible for Resource support or has a 504 Plan on file (students needing a Special Day Class setting cannot be served at this site), proof of residence, and a copy of the Immunization Record.  For additional information, please contact the principal at (415) 242-5000.

Ida B. Wells High School, located at 1099 Hayes, and Downtown High School, located at 693 Vermont Street, are the District’s two continuation schools for students who are lacking high school credits relative to their age. Students who select to enroll in a continuation high school must be at least 16 years of age at the time of enrollment.  Students who are 18 at the time they seek enrollment must obtain the principal’s permission prior to being assigned. Students are expected to attend daily for a full day of instruction.  However, students are given an opportunity to earn high school credits at an accelerated pace due to the program structure.

Students who are new to SFUSD should report initially to the Educational Placement Center at 555 Franklin St.  Students within SFUSD should discuss admission to a continuation school with their school counselor, or at the Office of Pupil Services.  All minors must be accompanied by a parent/guardian.  Assignments are made on a space availability basis.  The documents required for enrollment are a copy of a current transcript, a copy of the IEP if a student is in special education, proof of residence, and a copy of the Immunization Record.

The California School Age Families Education (Cal-SAFE) Program is designed to increase the availability of support services necessary for any enrolled expectant/parenting students to improve academic achievement and parenting skills and to provide a quality childcare/development program for their children. 

Hilltop School, 1325 Florida Street, is an optional, alternative SFUSD program with additional support services including childcare, parenting education, and career vocational education offered on site.  Enrollment into the Cal-SAFE program is voluntary, and Cal-SAFE services are available to all SFUSD students described above, whether enrolled at Hilltop or any SFUSD school.  For more information contact the Cal-SAFE coordinator through SFUSD Office of Pupil Services at (415) 241-3030 or officeofpupilservices@sfusd.edu.

County Community Schools, administrative offices located at 727 Golden Gate provide a personalized school environment for students in grade 6-12; the school incorporates an integrated academic and behavioral support approach. Besides offering the traditional SFUSD curriculum, County Community Schools offer individualized and unique programming such as on-line learning; social/emotional support groups; and career and job readiness counseling.    

Depending on age, placement, and expulsion status, students have the option to remain in these programs or return to District schools or programs.  Students are referred and placed by SFUSD Office of Pupil Services and are enrolled for classes at our County Community facility.  Documents required for enrollment are the same as those described above.  Please contact the Office of Pupil Services at:  (415) 241-3030 or officeofpupilservices@sfusd.edu, for additional information.

Homebound Instruction (Temporarily Disabled Program) will be provided if it is anticipated that a student will be unable to attend school temporarily for a period of four weeks or longer; the length and reason for confinement is determined by a licensed physician.  During this time of confinement, general education students will receive 2 hours per week of instruction and special education hours will be determined by the IEP team.  If it is anticipated that a student will be absent for a period less than four weeks, that student remains enrolled at their school of assignment, receiving homework assignments from that school.  For more information about specific eligibility requirements for this program, please contact the Homebound Education Program at (415) 759-2895.

A Private Tutor may teach students. The tutor must have a valid California teaching credential for the grade level being taught, and instruction must be in the courses of study required in the public schools. Tutoring must be provided for at least three hours per day, between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m., and for at least 175 days per calendar year. (See CA Education Code sections 48200 and 48224.) The affidavit required of a private school is not required of a tutor.

If you are thinking that you would like the student to earn a high school diploma from a regular public school, please note that not all public schools will accept transfer credits from a tutor. Most public high schools only accept transfer credits from another accredited high school.

Parents who wish to teach their children at home may establish a private school in their home. However, if the parent is the teacher, they should be credentialed or another credentialed person should perform the teaching. The law requires a private school to file a Private School Affidavit online at http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/ps/. “‘Home schooling,’ a situation where non-credentialed parents teach their own children, exclusively, at home whether using a correspondence course or other types of course—is not an authorized exemption from mandatory public school attendance. Furthermore, a parent’s filing of the affidavit required of a private school does not transform that parent into a private school (California Department of Education, July 2002.)”

Various Charter Schools specializing in specific areas and grades are open for enrollment.  Charter schools are granted charters by the San Francisco Board of Education, but each charter school has its own application and enrollment process.  For a list of charter schools, you may call the Office of Charter Schools at (415) 355-7323.

Interdistrict Enrollment is an option if you wish to attend a public school outside of the San Francisco Unified School District.  However, the two school districts must agree to this arrangement (releasing the student from San Francisco and accepting the student at another school district).  (See Handbook Section 3.8.8)